Back in Colorado from Tennessee

Man, vacations can be exhausting! And a great time to sit back and get some perspective on your projects, especially when your access to work is extremely limited.

I just got back from a week in Tennessee with my fiancee, visiting her family. We wanted to get out there before the big day so that I could meet her extended family and make sure I’d survive the family! 😉

I’m still working on the update I promised about getting more people to visit your website and should be finished editing it within the next few days, so stay posted! (I will also introduce a company that I’ve recently acquired that is relevant to Affinity’s information management services.)

However, I wanted to talk briefly about perspectives and stepping back from time to time.

Why should you take a break from work?

1. It reminds you why you do the work you do (and that there’s life outside of running a business!)

2. It forces you to slow down and step back, which gives you different perspectives on the problems or questions that you are trying to figure out. Sometimes we’re so caught up in our day to day work that this is really valuable to stop and step back. Sometimes a solution will just fall into place.

3. We need to recuperate! Starting and growing a business is an enormous amount of work that can take years to compensate you for the work, so it helps to clear your head so you can get back in the game!

I spoke with a man during out flight who sold his business and took a year off from work to go back to school. He said it was one of the best things he could have done and that he enjoyed that year immensely. I know we aren’t all in a position to do this, but what a great experience to have!

About Sterling Jackson

Years ago, I wanted to build the next big online game ... then I discovered how interesting the world of business and money can be. Now I help people implement and manage web-based technology to run their businesses more easily, saving them time, money (and lots of headaches.) Every client that I work with has a different story, situation and problem so there's never a routine day. (It's much more exciting than it sounds!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment